| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

Youth Development - Stetson University

Page history last edited by Amanda Nix 11 years, 5 months ago

 

 


Service  |  Academic Work  |  Education & Training  |  Capacity Building  |  Deliberative Democracy 


 

 

Types of Service   short-term  |  ongoing school year  |  summer


  • After-school and in-school tutoring
  • Mentoring
  • serving as camp counselors
  • Mentoring youth through the legal system
  • Alternative Spring Break
  • Youth Empowerment
  • Drug prevention education
  • Summer of Service

 

 

Academic Work   courses  |  service-learning  |  CBR and policy research   |  departments and institutes


  • The 1950s and 1960s (AS 152) - Dr. Paul Croce 
  • Campaign Watching (AS 376) - Dr. Paul Croce 
  • Education Program Core Classes (EN 245, 255, 265, 270)  
  • Introduction to Humane Economics (ES 106)
  • Poverty and Microcredit (ES 141) - Dr. Neal Long and Dr. Ranjini Thaver
  • Microcredit Workshop (ES 342)
  • Service Learning Experience (HONORS 6) - Dr. Paul Croce
  • Mentored Field Experience (LAS 103) - Dr. Anne Hallum
  • Self and World (REL 190) - Dr. Gregory Sapp
  • Internship in the Mexican-American Community (SH 300C) - Dr. Robert Sitler
  • Applied Social Science and Community-Based Research (SY 363) - Dr. John Schorr

 

Further information and course descriptions can be viewed here.

 

 

Education & Training   forums  |  workshops  |  reflection activities


  •  Howard Thurman Lecture Series
  • Grant Writing Workshops

 

 

Campus and Organizational Capacity-Building   training  |  fundraising  |  resource development


  • Relay for Life
  • Greenfeather
  • Sorority/Fraternaty Philanthropy Weeks
  • Philanthropy United (PHUN)
  • Circle K International (CKI)
  • Campaign for Adolescent and University Student Empowerment (CAUSE)
  • Youth As Resources (YAR)
  • Youth Empowerment through Sports Activities (YESA)

 

 

Research, Policy Analysis, Deliberative Democracy   evaluations  |  policy research  | issue forums  |  advocacy


 

 

 

Contacts   staff  |  faculty  |  students  |  community partners (local, regional, national)


Staff 

Savannah Jane Atkins     satkins@stetson.edu

Brittany Stark                 bstark@stetson.edu

Amanda Reece               areece@stetson.edu

Mary Gossett                  mgossett@stetson.edu

Rina Tovar                      rtovar@stetson.edu

 

 

Service-Learning Faculty

 

College of Arts and Sciences

Kirsten Work

kwork@stetson.edu

Shawnrece D. Campbell

sdcampbe@stetson.edu

Raymond Martin

rmartin@stetson.edu

Nancy Billingsley

nbilling@stetson.edu

Ann Adams

aadams@stetson.edu

Kathy Piechura-Couture

kpiechur@stetson.edu

Elizabeth Dershimer

edershim@stetson.edu

George Taylor

gwtaylor@stetson.edu

Carol Corcoran

ccorcora@stetson.edu 

Mercedes Tichenor

mticheno@stetson.edu

Mary Ferland

mferland@stetson.edu

Doug MacIsaac

dmacisaa@stetson.edu

Robin Diechrichs

rdiedric@stetson.edu

Ann Small

asmall@stetson.edu

Joy Haugaard

jhaugaar@stetson.edu

Thomas Hodges

thodges@stetson.edu

Cindy Lovell

clovell@stetson.edu

Patrick Coggins

pcoggins@stetson.edu

Elizabeth Heins

eheins@stetson.edu

Neal Long

nlong@stetson.edu

Ranjini Thaver

rthaver@stetson.edu

J. Anthony Abbott

tabbott@stetson.edu

Paul Croce

pcroce@stetson.edu

Ann Hallum

ahallum@stetson.edu

Richard Kindred

rkindred@stetson.edu

Greg Sapp

gsapp@stetson.edu

Robert Sitler

rsitler@stetson.edu

John Schorr

jschorr@stetson.edu

Mary Pollock

mpollock@stetson.edu

 

School of Business

Peggy Stahl

pstahl@stetson.edu

Carolyn Mueller

cmueller@stetson.edu

Michelle Demoss

mdemoss@stetson.edu

Becky Oliphant

boliphan@stetson.edu

 

School of Music 

Benjamin Lieser

blieser@stetson.edu

Ann Small

asmall@stetson.edu

David Bjella

dbjella@stetson.edu

Bobby Adams

badams@stetson.edu

Craig Maddox

cmaddox@stetson.edu

 

College of Law

Roy C. Gardener

Dorothea A. Beane

Rebecca C. Morgan

 

 

Community Partners 

ACT Services-Hugh West Gerontology Debra Mitchell 947-3633
Adept Suport coordination Tom Gillan 761-5000 x13 
African American Museumn of the Arts Irene Johnson  (386) 736-4004
ALPI Robert Gayton 386-749-3782
Alliance Center for Health Care Cheryl Starling  734-6401 ext. 124
Alterra Sterling House Penelope Weber 386-736-8100
American Cancer Society Paul Gloersen/Bob McDonald 386-760-6078
American Heart Association  Laura Hodges 386-676-0001
American Lung Association of Florida  Larry Glinzman 386-255-6447 ext 13
American Red Cross Jennifer Dmartino 386-226-1400
Association of Retarded Citizens Volusia Gus Sotir (386) 274-4736
AVID, Volusia County Schools Linda Armour 3867347190 ext. 6030
Best Buddies Brian Suto / Jaquie Johnson (407) 898-0787
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Volusia County Heidi Kellogg 738-5134
Blue Lakes Elementary Carol Thames (386) 822-4070
Blue Springs State Park Richard Harris   775-3663
Camp Boggy Creek Robin Brubaker 352-483-4200 ext. 293
Boston Avenue School Joan Lee 822-6640
Boys and Girls Club  Joe Sullivan  386-860-5004
Boys and Girls Club of Spring Hill Altheia Shavers 736-8807
Boy Scouts of America  Nancy Freeman 386-561-8234
Cape Canaveral Seashore Camping  Laura Hennings 386-428-3384
Central Florida Zoo Bawn Danzi 407-323-4450 ext123
Child Care Resource Network Gigi Hart 386-323-2400
Children and Family Support Services Joan Turner  863-956-3491
Chilren's Home Society Eric Losciale  740-3839 
Chilren's Miracle Network of Greater Orlando Cindy Terry (407) 481-2774
Children's House Montessori School Dora Mallett 736-3632
Chisholm Center Jerome Porter 740-6825 ext 6849
College Arms Towers Jackie Shepard 734-2297
Community Foundation of East Central Florida Nita Schmellick 386-734-4075
Community Outreach Center Susan Clark 736-0420 ext. 111
Conklin Center for the Blind  Pamela Hobbs 386-258-3441
Cooperative Extension Services David Griffith 822-5778
Council of Aging  Shari Day/ Joyce Heath 253-4700 ext. 207
DeBary Hall Historic Site Amber Osmun 386-668-3840
Deland Museum of Art Lyn 734-4371
Deland Famiy Center Estella Belle  734-1144
Deland Housing Authority Gloria Grant 736-1696 ext 16
Deland Police Department Randel Henderson (386) 740-6911
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. Carol Dandridge   
Deltona Middle School Kathy Leavitt 386-575-4150
Department of Juvenile Justice  Debra Knight (386) 947-3591
Domestic Abuse Council Darlene Whitley 738-4080
Domestic Abuse Shelter   738-4080
Dream-a-Wish Woodrow Keiser 1-877-788-WISH
Duvall Home for Retarded Children Dixie Gilber Holt 734-2874
Easter Seals Lynn Sinnott 386-255-4568 ext. 318
Eckerd Family Foundation  Jane Soltis 727-446-2996 ext 2
Enterprise Elementary School Thomas Hoffman 386-668-8108
Environmental Management Jack Towle/ Kelly Young 248-1781
Family Center Coordinator Barbara Rutherford 386-822-6760
Faith Evangelical Lutheran Church  Pastor Art Wuertz 734-2791
First Baptist Church of Deland Ben Collins 734-5085
First Christian Church James Anderson 734-0677
First Presbyterian Day School Rose Chomin 734-6214
Florida Hospital-Deland Meliss King 943-4748
Florida Lutheran Health Center Heather Canova 738-0212
Florida Lutheran Retirement Center Chris Graham 736-5800 ext 5864
Florida United Methodist Children's Home Bess Bussey (386) 668-5088
Four-H Cooperative Extension  Shirley Ellison  822-5778
FUTURE/Take Stock in Children Marsha Lewis 3867347190 ext. 20241
Grace House Pregnancy Resource Center Inc. Donna Jensen  386-822-9797
Habitat for Humanity for West Volusia Kevin Loftus 734-7268
Headstart Center Olga Araujo 386-736-1325
Hospice of Volusia County Meredith Stevens (386)322-4701
Helping Our Student to Suceed Beth Harper  
House Next Door Donna Williams 3867347571 ext. 101
Humane Society Gloria Thomas 734-2450
 Library Center of Volusia County Marta Orlowski 257-6036 ext 6317
Journey's End Animal Sanctuary Florence Thuot  (386) 736-6396 
Literacy Council  Jonel Persinger 386-785-2085
Mainstreet Deland Association  Taver Cornett 738-0649
March of Dimes Kelly Harrell 386-274-3267
Marine Science Center Michael Brothers (386) 304-5529
Museum of Arts and Sciences Bonnie Trombley 386-255-0285 ext. 16
National Network for Youth    202-783-7949
Nature Conservancy:  Disney Wilderness Lisa Poser 407 935-0002
Nazarene Church of Deltona Barbara Gregory 386-574-7828
Neighborhood Center Robert Barbieri 734-8120
One-Stop Career System Flagler & Volusia Counties Linda Callaghan 3867403266
Operation Caring Through Sharing Brenda George 3866769106
Our Children First  Joyce Drinkwater 248-2771 ext 305
Our Father's Closet Rose 734-8350
P-3 Community Foundation  Nita Schemellick (386) 734-4075
Police Athletic Department Lt. Bobby Lambert 386-943-7866
Rape Crisis Center Deborah Winchock-Ebert 386-254-4106
Rose Manor Assisted Living Home Debbie Tolan 386-738-5982
Salvation Army Capt. Tanya / Mark Dooley 738-2406
San Jose Mission / ESL   749-9372
Serenity House of Volusia Linda Baden/Randy Croy 252-3506/258-5050 Ext 16
Small World Youth Services Inc LaVerne White   386-739-1286
Southeastern Network of Youth & Fam. Services Sherry Allen 239-949-4414
Southwestern Middle School Michael Strother 822-6700
Spring Hill Community Resource Center Donna Banks 740-0808
St. Barnabas Episcopal Church  Dennis 734-9708
State of Florida Department of Blind Services  Debbie Armstrong 258-4444
Stetson, Department of Geography Don Zondervan Unit Box 8401
Students With A Purpose Laverne White 738-1286 home
Teens for Pure Energy Bonnie Thurman 386-860-1861
The Sands Theater Bonnie Keyser 738-7156
The Upper Room John Ruehl 738-1459
Twinkle Star Montessori School Hellen 736-1121
United Humanitarians of West Volusia County Nancy Leonard (386) 785-0349
United Way of Volusia County Shori Dae                              Roseanna Spychala (386) 253-0563
University Center East  Christopher Frierson (386) 734-9083
University Center West Oretha Wilson 734-9085
University of Florida Cooperative Extension Service David Griffis (386) 822-5778
Volusia County Health Dept. Jan Modzelewski (386) 822-6215
Volusia County Hispanics Association Zenaisa Denizac 386.860.1128
Volusia County Public Library Karen Poulsen 736-2700 ext. 1220
Volusia County Schools Erika Tillman (386) 255-6475
Volusia Schools-"Take Stock in Children" Nancy Wait 734-7190
YMCA  Deltona  736-6000 or 532-9622
YMCA  Deland-Jennifer Cyr  386-736-6000
Young Life West Volusia Aaron Underwood 386-785-4150
Youth Motivators Erika Tillman 255-6475 ext. 2227 

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.